D.J. Shaw Takes Pro All Stars Series Super Late Model Night #1 At White Mountain Motorsports Park

Story By: CALE KING / WHITE MOUNTAIN MOTORSPORTS PARK – NORTH WOODSTOCK, NH – In a rare Friday night special event at White Mountain Motorsports Park, new chapters were written with both new and familiar faces throughout the four divisions set to start an awesome mid-July doubleheader weekend.

Starting off the evening with the first appearance of the year for the PASS Modified series, Danny Wear took the lead from the pole after his heat race win. The #25 of Shawn Knight was nearly a straightaway behind Wear at the head of a single-file train. Thomaston, Maine driver Ryan Ripley was the only driver using the outside lane to his advantage, and it worked. By halfway, Ripley worked his way up through the top ten to lead the pack. Following the first caution on lap 28 for the #1 of Brandon Varney spinning onto the pit road ramp, Ripley again paced the field while Wear and Knight followed in line.

After another green flag run, caution number two came out for the #6 of Troy Morse as he spun into the turn three tire barriers. On the restart Ripley led a four-way battle for second close behind. Wear and Knight tried to hold on as Spencer Vaughn charged into the mix just before a lap-48 backstretch clash with Zach Bowie and Mike Davis clogging up the real estate and bringing out the final yellow. With a green to checkered finish, Ryan Ripley crossed the line first followed by Danny Wear and Shawn Knight.

The New England Pro-4 Modifieds entered the raceway for their first event at White Mountain Motorsports Park with a field of thirteen. The green to checkered race saw the 62NH of Les Rose lead from the start with his only real competition starting to tap his rear bumper on lap 14. Ben Ashford in the 24VT got dangerously close to the Rose machine but quickly fell out of contention with mechanical issues. In the end, Les Rose took a dominant win for the unique 4-cylinder modified division followed by Rob Richardi and Caleb Cashman.

The New England Supermodified Series also made their White Mountain Motorsports Park debut on Friday. Taking the green for their 50-lap main event, pole sitter David Dugan held strong until Rob Summers beat him into turn three and made a daring pass on the inside to take the lead on lap 9. From there Summers never looked back and with the lead his times around the high banked quarter mile shrunk from 10.6-second laps to 10.4-second laps. Soon after, Ben Seitz began to close in on the leader but ultimately was unable to pass the #5 of Summers. After a green-to-checkered run lasting just 9 minutes and 7 seconds, Rob Summers took the checkers followed by Seitz and Michael Barnes for third.

To round out the special Friday night program, the PASS Super Late Models entered the track for their first of twin-150 lap events this weekend. On the start, former White Mountain Late Model winner Derek Ming got the jump on talented Massachusetts racer Ryan Kuhn, after both won their respective heat races. The first caution would come out on lap 7 for White Mountain Foley Oil & Propane Late Model regular Mark Patten spinning in turn one. On the restart an accordion pile-up ensued resulting in a smashed-up nose and the end of the night for former Beech Ridge Motor Speedway competitor Evan Beaulieu. Again having trouble on the restart, Ming lost control of his 45VT ride, slowing up the inside line and bringing the caution back out.

The successful restart brought Wayne Helliwell, Jr. to the front row, getting the jump on Dillon Moltz while Kuhn followed Helliwell on the bottom to duke it out for second. By lap 23, D.J. Shaw pushed into contention by sliding under Kuhn for second-place position. With another restart coming after Ming and Evan Hallstrom spun in turn four, Helliwell once again prevailed on the inside groove while Moltz dug deep on the outside.

By lap 40, Shaw began to work Moltz for the bottom lane with 7-time PASS champion Johnny Clark stalking Shaw close behind. Before too long it was a battle between Clark and Shaw as they swapped lanes and positions three times for the chance to start working Moltz in second. On lap 68, Shaw moved into second while Clark would get around Moltz for third on lap 72 with Helliwell gaining the most during the three-car battle behind him.

The yellow flag would be unfurled again on lap 79 as Jeremy Davis lost his right front tire, sending him hard into the front stretch retaining wall. On the restart, Helliwell, Shaw and Clark quickly reset themselves into a three-car string around the White Mountain asphalt. While Shaw would look high and low a time or two, he was unsuccessful in finding the fast lane around Helliwell until the lap 114 caution flew for Eddie MacDonald’s parked machine on the backstretch gave Shaw hope.

On the restart, Shaw powered on the outside of Helliwell to lead 115 but quickly fell back, working the iconic orange 27NH machine of Helliwell until lap 133 when Shaw finally found a lane on the inside and took the lead once again followed closely by Clark. In the final laps Clark made his way under Helliwell but there wasn’t enough time to catch up with Shaw. D.J. Shaw took his second Pro All Stars Series win of the season followed by Johnny Clark and Wayne Helliwell Jr. as they get set to do it all again tomorrow.

Saturday, July 16th sees the second PASS Super Late Model 150 in less than 24-hours plus the return of local championship action for the Foley Oil & Propane Late Models, Wells River Chevrolet Flying Tigers and Woodsville Guaranty Savings Bank Strictly Stock Minis. Post Time is set for 6:00pm with General Admission set at $20 for adults, $5 for kids 12 to 5 with Kids 5 and under free!


White Mountain Motorsports Park – N. Woodstock, NH

Pro All Stars Series Modified Madness Special

Friday, July 15, 2022



Pro All Stars Series Super Late Models – 150 Laps

1. 60 D.J. Shaw Center Conway, NH

2. 54 Johnny Clark Hallowell, ME

3. 27NH Wayne Helliwell, Jr. Dover, NH

4. 5M Dillon Moltz New Sharon, ME

5. 20P Joe Pastore Gorham, ME

6. 99 Ben Ashline Palmyra, ME

7. 29 Trevor Sanborn E. Parsonsfield, ME

8. 72 Ryan Kuhn E. Bridgewater, MA

9. 83VT Stacy Cahoon St. Johnsbury, VT

10. 17MA Eddie MacDonald Rowley, MA

11. 02 Brian Whalley Laconia, NH

12. 14 Scott McDaniel Livermore, ME

13. 07 Mark Patten Belmont, NH

14. 50 Gabe Brown Center Conway, NH

15. 45 Mike Mayberry Naples, ME

16. 09 Jeremy Davis Tamworth, NH

17. 4 Ben Rowe Turner, ME

18. 32 Nick Jenkins Brownville, ME

19. 45VT Derek Ming W. Burke, VT

20. 1VT Evan Hallstrom Northfield, VT

21. 12 Dennis Spencer, Jr. Oxford, ME

22. 56 Evan Beaulieu Durham, ME

23. 81 Dan Winter Deerfield, ME


New England Supermodified Series –

1. 5 Rob Summers

2. 97 Ben Seitz

3. 11 Michael Barnes

4. 41 Russ Wood

5. 51 David Dugan


PASS Modifieds – 50 Laps

1. 09 Ryan Ripley Thomaston, ME

2. 0 Danny Wear Buxton, ME

3. 25 Shawn Knight South Paris, ME

4. 2 AJ Cates Lyman, ME

5. 7 Spencer Vaughn Canton, ME

6. 9 Alex Ricker Tamworth, NH

7. 1 Brandon Varney Canton, ME

8. 52 Colby Benjamin Belmont, ME

9. 10 Bill Fiske Chester, ME

10. 38 Garrett Lamb Windham, ME

11. 00 Zach Bowie Greene, ME

12. 17 Mike Davis Tamworth, NH

13. 83 Dan Brown Turner, ME

14. 6M Troy Morse Bridgton, ME

15. 85 Chandler Harrison Freeport, ME


New England Pro-4 Modifieds – 25 Laps

1. 62MA Les Rose

2. 0 Rob Richardi

3. 6 Caleb Cashman

4. 66 Craig Phillips

5. 67 Doug Meservey, Jr.

6. 4XL Jack Dumas

7. 5 Brayden Meservey

8. 37 Allan Rieser

9. 58 Dana Willis

10. 57 Kurt Lester

11. 77 Avery Young

12. 03VT Sophia Ashford

13. 24VT Ben Ashford

error: Thanks For Visiting Race Pro Weekly ... Like what you see? Tell your friends to check us out!