Matt Hirschman Named Eastern Motorsport Press Association’s Asphalt Driver Of 2022

Story By: DINO OBERTO / EASTERN MOTORSPORT PRESS ASSOCIATION – HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA – The Eastern Motorsport Press Association (EMPA) is proud to announce that Matt Hirschman has been named as the 2022 Richie Evans Memorial Northeast Asphalt Driver of the Year.

The Al Holbert Memorial National Asphalt Driver of the Year is NHRA Pro Stock champ Erica Enders.

The Chris Economaki Memorial News Maker of the Year goes to North Wilkesboro Speedway.

Tom Wanick III has been named as the Junie Donleavy “Spirit of the Sport” award winner for his ongoing compassion and generosity to the sport and his community.

The newest inductees into the prestigious EMPA Hall of Fame in advance of the organization’s 50th Convention set to take place January 13-15, 2023 at the Genetti Best Western Convention Center in Wilkes-Barre, Pa will include renowned driving great Bobby Marshman, who came up through the ranks of Midgets and Sprints before embarking on a career in Indy Cars. He was locked in, needing no votes.

By virtue of balloting that was held amongst the membership the top vote getters included respected commentator / broadcaster Mike Joy and legendary northeast pavement Modified star Reggie Ruggiero.

During the formal awards dinner EMPA will also recognize many of their own bestowing the Jim Hunter Memorial Writer of the Year and Ace Lane Sr., Memorial Photographer of the Year plus several other awardees in a variety of writer and photographer contests.

The annual three day convention begins with a Friday evening “Salute to the Champions” where a number of local and regional driving titlists are invited to meet and greet with the press. Saturday consists of press conferences and seminars followed by the evening’s Hall of Fame dinner and awards ceremony.

error: Thanks For Visiting Race Pro Weekly ... Like what you see? Tell your friends to check us out!