Patrick Emerling Wins Ol’ Boy Cup VI Saturday Night At Lancaster Motorplex

Story By: STEVEN PETTY / LANCASTER MOTORPLEX – LANCASTER, NY – Orchard Park, NY’s Patrick Emerling took the Joey Sterns-owned racecar to his ninth career Modified win at Lancaster Motorplex, by winning the Ol’ Boy VI.

Nik Welshans from West Seneca, NY won his first Street Stock feature of the season. Dave Wollaber from North Tonawanda, NY won his second Mighty TQ Midget feature of the season and 32nd of his career. Charles Palmer from Cheektowaga, NY won his second 4 Cylinder feature of the season and seventh of his career.

Lancaster Motorplex would like to thank the Colton Family for their continued support of the Ol’ Boy Cup. The Colton family continued their storied bonus money program to the modified field.

Zane Zeiner and Mike Leaty were on the front row for the Ol’ Boy Cup VI for the Race of Champions Modified Series with Zeiner showing the way with Patrick Emerling taking over second place, and then taking the lead away from Zeiner at the end of lap one. Jack Ely would move into third place, followed by Leaty, and Daryl Lewis Jr. Timmy Catalano would move up quickly, taking over fourth from Leaty on lap seven, and then would battle with Ely for third place.

Catalano would take over the third position on lap nine. Tony Hanbury would enter the top five on lap 11 after passing Leaty and Lewis. Timmy Catalano would continue to head to the front of the field as he passed Zeiner to move into second place on lap 12 and would go after race leader Patrick Emerling.

With Emerling and Catalano up front, Zeiner raced in third and was followed by Hanbury, Ely, Lewis, and Austin Beers. Catalano would pressure Emerling to pick his pace up at the race’s 1/3rd mark. Amy Catalano spun in turn three to bring out the race’s first caution on lap 21. On the restart, Emerling would show the way over Zeiner, Catalano, Hanbury, and Beers. Catalano would regain the runner-up position on lap 28.

The caution would come out on lap 36, as Sean Verwys came to a stop in turn two. The restart would once again see Emerling showing the way over Catalano, Austin Beers, Zeiner, and Hanbury. Zeiner would regain second on lap 37, with Beers taking third away from Catalano on lap 38. Zeiner would break something in the right front and hit the Thermal Foam.

Austin Beers would take second away on the restart, with Tony Hanbury taking over third. George Skora III entered the top five on lap 47 and then looked to take over fourth place from Timmy Catalano. Skora would move into the fourth position on lap 48. Skora would reel in Hanbury for third late in the event, with Skora making the move and taking over the position with five laps remaining.

Mike Leaty would reenter the top five after passing Timmy Catalano with four laps remaining. Emerling would go on to score the win, his first Modified win of the season at Lancaster, and the ninth of his career at the famed facility.

Frank Prell and Garett Cleversley were on the front row for the Street Stock feature event, with Prell showing the early advantage. Tim Welshans would take over second and would battle with Prell for the lead. Tommy Wentland and James Loveland made contact going into turn one and would set up a multi-car incident, including Dave Krawczyk and Wentland, with both drivers hitting the Thermal Foam, and Krawczyk would climb over the wall. The green flag restart would see Tim Welshans taking over the lead away from Prell with brother Nik Welshans moving into second place, followed by Jacob Gustafson, Mike Dalfonso, and Prell. Gustafson, Tim Welshans, and Dalfonso would battle for second, with Gustafson taking over the position prior to the halfway mark. Dalfonso would take over second and Mark Hoch would take over third following lap 14 restart. A late-race restart would bunch the field up, and Nik Welshans would go on to score the win.

Hunter McKay and Casey Pew were on the front row for the 4 Cylinder feature, with McKay showing the way. Kyle Casper would take the lead away, just as McKay came to a stop in turn two to bring out the caution. Charles Palmer would take the lead away on lap three with David Brunka taking over second place. Casey Pew would take over third from Jacob Crosta on lap eight, as Palmer and Brunka pulled away from the field. Palmer would go on to score his second win of the season.

Mark Schulz and Brendan Wallace brought the Mighty TQ Midgets to the green flag for their main event, with Mark Schulz in the lead with Brian Schulz taking over second place. Andy Jankowiak would take second away on lap two and go after race leader Mark Schulz. Dave Wollaber would move into third on lap 11 and would battle with Jankowiak and Schulz. On lap 15, Wollaber would take the lead. Wollaber would then hold off the field to score his second of the season, and 32nd of his career.

Racing returns on Saturday, August 20 for the Ken “Hurricane” Heckler Street Stock Memorial 51, plus season championship night. The popular Autograph Night will also take place next Saturday night. The Sportsman, Street Stocks, and 4 Cylinders will all be in competition. Racing will begin at 6:30 pm with pit gates opening at 2 pm and practice getting underway at 4:30 pm. As always, kids 12 and under can sign up at the picnic tables upon entering the facility to participate in the Big Wheel Races that takes place during intermission.



Race of Champions Modified Series: PATRICK EMERLING, Austin Beers, George Skora III, Tony Hanbury, Mike Leaty, Timmy Catalano, Daryl Lewis Jr, Daren Scherer, Jack Ely, Randall Richard, Amy Catalano, Danny Knoll Jr, Ricky Knapp, Mark Tychoniewicz, Zane Zeiner, Sean Verwys, Tim Garlock, Tyler Catalano

Qualifying Heats: George Skora III, Austin Beers, Mike Leaty

Fast Time: Patrick Emerling

Street Stocks: NIK WELSHANS, Jacob Gustafson, Mark Hoch, Frank Batista Jr, Tim Welshans, Frank Prell, Jason Anasiewicz, Tyler Day, Will Cloutier, Matt Friend, Mike Dalfonso, James Loveland, Garett Cleversley, Mike Rogers, Tommy Wentland, Dave Krawczyk, Chris Handley, Brian Rogers, Dan Dressel

Qualifying Heats: Jacob Gustafson, Tim Welshans, Mark Hoch

4 Cylinders: CHARLES PALMER, David Brunka, Chris Deyoe Jr, Casey Pew, Andy Danielwicz, Briar Dills, Jacob Crosta, Kyle Casper, Chris Skobjak, Mason Offhaus, Jason Anasiewicz, Hunter McKay

Qualifying Heats: David Brunka, Charles Palmer

Mighty TQ Midgets: DAVE WOLLABER, Andy Jankowiak, Mark Schulz, Shawn Nye, Brian Schulz, Kyle Hutchinson, Brendan Wallace, Nick Groff, Vinnie Christiano III, Cole Mullen, Steve Lewis Jr, Vinnie Christiano Jr, Ronnie Flaim, Ronnie Mullen, Tony Petrea, Erik Musto, Jonathan Reid, Kevin Wilson, Chester Haywood

Qualifying Heats: Brendan Wallace, Mark Schulz

error: Thanks For Visiting Race Pro Weekly ... Like what you see? Tell your friends to check us out!