Eddie Hawkins Leads All 30-Laps To Take Evans Mills Raceway Park Modified Win

Story By: JAY SHIMEL / EVANS MILLS RACEWAY PARK – EVANS MILLS, NY – Another beautiful May evening welcomed race fans to the annual 1950’s Vintage Night at Evans Mills Raceway Park.

Track personnel were dressed in 50’s style clothing and spectators were greeted to classic music as well as a Vintage Car show as they entered the midway. During intermission, the Vintage Cars paraded around the speedway and shared stories about their cars. EMRP would like to extend a big thank you to all the owners for bringing their cars out to display for the night.

The Excel Tower Service Pro Late Models were the first feature of the night. Mark Barker (#77) and Chuck Meyer (#3) started on the front row. Meyer was able to take the lead by the exit of turn 2. He would soon find pressure from Rylee Gill (#57). Gill was able to make his move entering turn 3 as he dove deep taking the lead from Meyer. Josh Verne Jr (1V) would spin on lap 9 bringing out a caution. Gill elected to start on the outside and was able to hold onto his lead on the restart over Meyer. Another caution flew on lap 10 for Barker and Sid Harmer Jr (14R) in turn 1. Gill would start on the outside and once again was able to maintain his lead and go on to win his first feature of the year in his first start. Meyer was second and Josh Verne Jr. finished third.

The Classic Asphalt Modified Series made their first of two stops at EMRP. 6 beautiful classic modifieds started the feature which was brought to the green flag by the #X9 of John Semmler and the blue #50 of Tim Janes. Semmler was able to get the jump on the green flag and beat Janes to turn 1. Andy Fera in the yellow #50 was able to get by Janes for second. Janes and the #99 of Bob Ripley would run side by side for 3 laps for third place, with Ripley finally taking over the spot. A caution would come out for a spin by the #16 of Shiloh James in turn 3. However, Semmler had too much for the rest of the field, as he would lead all 15 laps and pick up the feature win. Andy Fera would finish second and Ripley would take home third place.

Next up were the Sport Compact and Thunderstocks. AJ St. Mary (111J) and Tim Greenfield (73T) were the pole sitters. By lap 2, Anthony Pettinelli (5) would work his way to the lead with Trevor Halladay (23T) giving chase behind him. Justin Coachman (7) would spin in turn 2 bringing out the feature’s only caution on lap 6. Halladay would be able to get around Pettinelli on the restart. 2 laps later, Amada DeFoe (61) would catch Pettinelli and complete the pass for second. Halladay would go on to pick up his third win in a row, followed by DeFoe and Pettinelli.

23 Caskinette Ford Modifieds were called to the speedway to start their feature. Terry Gardner in the #41 and the #33 of Eddie Hawkins made up row 1. Hawkins was able to clear Gardner by turn 1 and lead the field down the backstretch. Chris Finocchario in the #81 and the #03 of Andre Roggie brought out the caution for a spin in turn 2. Hawkins was still the leader, Trever Catalano in the #54 moved up to second and his brother Tyler Catalano in the #64 worked up to third. The second caution would come out for a spin by the #84 of Josh Shoonmaker. Hawkins still controlled the race, but the Catalano brothers had flipped positions. 3 more cautions would come out, including one with two laps to go. Catalano would put constant pressure on the leader. Hawkins controlled the restarts and held his line and would go on to pick up his first feature win at EMRP leading all 30 laps. Tyler Catalano finished second, Trever Catalano was third, Mike Ramos earned his third consecutive top 5, finishing fourth and Matt Caprara finished 5th after starting last.

The Christman Fuel Service Inex Legends were next for their 20 lap feature. Jason Christman (92) and Zach Anderson (46A) paced the field to the green flag. On the start, Breanna Gilligan (9), Dalton Rombough (33) and David French (46F) would work to the front, running 1,2,3 until the first caution on lap 6. On the restart, Gilligan and French would collect each other and spin into the infield. Rombough would gain the lead on the restart. French would be able to work his way back to second. The final caution flew on lap 12 allowing French to start on the outside of the leader. Rombough would lead exiting turn 2, with French flowing closely. They would race nose to tail for 5 laps until French brushed the wall coming out of turn 4. This would give Rombough enough distance to pick up his second win in a row, French would finish second and Colby Felber (14) finished third.

The final feature of the night was the 4-Cylinder trucks. The #007 of Brandon Clemons and the #12 of Skylar Farney started the race from the front row. Farney would get the early jump and lead the early laps. Bob Schory in the #33 would spin on the backstretch. He would be able to gather the truck back up and keep going without a caution. Last week’s winner, Pete Willsie in the #01 started to reel in Farney. By the final two laps, Schory had recovered from his earlier spin and pressured Willsie and Farney for the win. The 3 would run close for the final laps, but Farney would win his first feature, followed by Willsie and Schory.

Next Week,Saturday May 29th, Evans Mills Raceway Park unofficially kicks of summer with Hilton Garden Inn and Froggy 97. We will have our Caskinette Ford Modifieds, Christman Fuel Service INEX Legends, Excel Tower Service Pro Late Models, Sport Compacts/Thunderstocks/4-Cylinder Trucks and our first of three skid plate races! During intermission, Froggy 97 presents it’s Summer Showcase Concert with Reviver Records Artist Aaron Goodvin! Pit Gates open at 3pm, General Admission at 5pm, Racing starts at 6:30pm. Pit Pass $30, General Admission $12, Military $10, Children 10-17 $6, Under 9 Free!

error: Thanks For Visiting Race Pro Weekly ... Like what you see? Tell your friends to check us out!